Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Tuticorin

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Tamil Nadu
Patron: St. Francis Xavier, St. Theresa of Lisieux
Founded: 12 June 1923
Province: Madurai
Status: Diocese
Total area:  6,440 sq. kms.
Total Population : 2555,000
Catholics Total: 426,169
Diocesan Priests: 216
Religious Priests: 33
Religious Sisters: 515
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Bishop of the Diocese

Most Rev. Yvon Ambroise
Personal Details
Priestly Ordination:23-Dec-1967
Episcopal Ordination:18-May-2005
Period: 2005-

Tel(P): 0461 - 2320030, 09442505667
Email(P): bishopyvon@gmail.com
Contact Details
Catholic Bishop’s House, 82, Great Cotton Road, Tuticorin - 628 001 (Tamil Nadu)
Tel(O): 0461-23 20 035
Fax : 23 27 710
Email : tutya@dataone.in

Diocese of Tuticorin at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 109Retreat Centres: 02
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 12
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 10Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 14
Orphanages : 37Homes for Aged & Destitute : 05
Schools for Physically Challenged: 01Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 10
Social Centres : 07HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 10Degree Colleges: 02
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 38
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 35High Schools : 27
Upper Primary Schools: 62Lower Primary Schools:136
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :67Presses & Media Centres : 04


The Diocese of Tuticorin comprises of the major part of the Tuticorin district, nearly half of the Nellai district and a small portion of the Kanyakumari district. The Catholics of this area trace their origin to the time of St. Francis Xavier who spent most of his missionary life in this area.
Separated from the diocese of Tiruchirapalli, Tuticorin was created a diocese and entrusted to the diocesan clergy in 1923 by the Apostolic Brief "Quae Catholico Nomini" of Pope Pius XI. It was entrusted to the indigenous clergy with Rt. Rev. Francis Tiburtius Roche, sj, as it's first Bishop. He was also the first Indian Bishop of the Latin Rite.
On April 4, 1930 the five parishes of Kooduthalai, Manapad, (Holy Ghost Church), Punnaikayal, Tuticorin (Our Lady of Snows Church) and Vaippar which were till then under the Padroado, were amalgamated into the diocese by virtue of the Papal Bull "Quae ad Spirituale" of Pope Pius XI.


Pilgrim Centres

Pilgrim Centres:  

Former Bishops

Most Rev. Peter Fernando Bishop1999-2003
Most Rev. Siluvaimathu Teresanathan AmalnatherBishop1980-1999
Most Rev. Ambrose MathalaimuthuBishop1971-1979
Most Rev. Thomas Fernando Bishop1953-1970
Most Rev. Francis Tiburtius RocheBishop1923-1953