Appointment of the Auxiliary Bishop of Tura (India) (24-02-2020)
The Holy Father has appointed Rev. Jose Chirackal of the Tura clergy, Auxiliary Bishop of the Diocese of Tura (India), hitherto parish priest of St. Luke's Church and Director of the Diocesan Pastoral Center, assigning him the titular see of Acufida.
Rev. Jose Chirackal was born on July 14, 1960 in Karukutty, Kerala, in the Archdiocese of Rite Syro-Malabarese of Ernakulam-Angamaly. After secondary school, he left the state of Kerala, moving to Shillong in 1976, for ecclesiastical formation. He attended St. Paul's Minor Seminary , before studying Philosophy in Christ King College and Theology in Oriens Theological College, Shillong. He obtained a Baccalaureate in Arts from St. Anthony's College. He holds a Licentiate and Doctorate in Canon Law from the Urbaniana University in Rome.
He was ordained a priest on December 29, 1987, for the Diocese of Tura.
After priestly ordination he carried out the following tasks: 1988-1991: Parish vicar of St. Joseph's Church in Selsella; 1991-1995: Doctoral studies in Canon Law in Rome; 1995-2004: Rector of St. Peter's Minor Seminary, Tura; 2004-2009: Diocesan Chancellor and Treasurer; 2004-2011: Judicial Vicar and Diocesan Spokesperson; 2009-2011: Pastor of the Cathedral of Mary of Help of Christians , Tura; 2011-2014: Rector of Oriens Theological College , Archdiocese of Shillong and Secretary of the Commission for vocations and formation in the Nort East Region; 2014-2019: Diocesan Treasurer and Defender of the Bond of the Ecclesiastical Court of the Diocese of Tura.
From July 2019: Parish priest in St. Luke's Church , Walbakgre, Tura and Director of the Pastoral Center.
Renunciation of the Bishop of the Syro-Malabar Eparchy of Kanjirapally (India) and election of the new Eparchial Bishop (15-01-2020)
Election of the Auxiliary Bishop of the Eparchy of Palghat (India) (15-01-2020)
Elevation of the Apostolic Exarchate of St. Ephrem of Khadki of the Syro-Malankara (India) to the Eparchy and appointment of the first Eparchial Bishop (23-11-2019)
Appointment of the Bishop of Palayamkottai, India (20-11-2019)
Renunciation and succession of the Bishop of Alleppey, India (11-10-2019)
Appointment of the Bishop of the Eparchy of Bijnor, India (30-08-2019)
Appointment of the Bishop of Mandya of the Siro-Malabaresi, India (30-08-2019)
Appointment of the Auxiliary of the Eparchy of Faridabad of the Syro-Malabareans, India (30-08-2019)
Appointment of the Major Archbishop for the Archieparchy of Ernakulam-Angamaly, India (30-08-2019)
Appointment of the Bishop of Srikakulam, India (16-07-2019)
Pope Appoints new Bishop in Gwalior, India (31-05-2019)
Appointment of Coadjutor Bishop of Baruipur, India (17-05-2019)
Pope has Appointed Bishop Derek Fernandes as Bishop of Belgaum (01-05-2019)
Pope appoints new bishop in Tuticorin, India (17-01-2019)
Pope appoints new Archbishop in Nagpur, India (03-12-2018)
Holy Father, Pope Francis has appointed Bishop Coadjutor of the Diocese of Dibrugarh, India (02-12-2018)
Pope appoints two new bishops in India (08-06-2018)
Pope Francis appointed Fr. Peter Paul Saldanha as the new Bishop of Mangalore (03-07-2018)
Pope Francis on June 29 appointed a Coadjutor Archbishop in Patna and an Apostolic Administrator in Palayamkottai (30-06-2018)
Pope Francis on June 8 appointed a new bishop in Raiganj and an auxiliary bishop in Miao (08-06-2018)
Pope appoints new bishop in Quilon, India (18-05-2018)
Pope has Appointed Bishop Peter Machado of Belgaum as Archbishop of Bangalore (19-03-2018)
Fr. Athanasius Rethna Swamy Swamiadian new Bishop of Ahmedabad, India (29-01-2018)
Pope appoints new Bishop of Idukki, Kerala, India (12-01-2018)
Pope acknowledges appointment of Bishop of Idukki, Kerala, India (12-01-2018)
Pope appoints a coadjutor bishop to Alleppey Diocese in India (07-12-2017)
Provisions for the Syro-Malabar Church, 10th October 2017 (10-10-2017)
Fr. Tony Neelankavil Auxiliary Bishop of Trichur Archdiocese (01-09-2017)
Fr. Sebastian Vaniyapurackal Curia Bishop of Syro-Malabar (01-09-2017)
Fr Joseph Pamplany Auxiliary Bishop of Tellicherry Archdiocese (01-09-2017)
Rev. George Kalayil as Bishop of Puttur & Erection of Parassala diocese and appoint of Rev. Thomas Mar Eusebios Naickamparambil as its first bishop
Fr. Peter Sebastian Goveas is Appointed as the New Bishop of Bettiah (22-7-2017)
Fr. Nazarene Soosai is Appointed as the New Bishop of Kottar (20-5-2017)
Fr. Kannikadass William Antony is Appointed as the New Bishop of Mysore (25-1-2017)
His Excellency Most Reverend Giambattista Diquattro (21-1-2017)
Fr. Thomas Tharayil as the Aux. Bishop of Changanacherry (14-1-2017)
Appointment of Fr. Allwyn D' Silva & Fr. Barthol Barretto as Auxiliary bishops of Archdiocese of Bombay (20-12-2016)