Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Rayagada

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Orissa
Status: Diocese
Total area: 39,368.4 sq.km.
Total Population : 5,776,630
Catholics Total: 61,827

Diocese of Rayagada at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : Retreat Centres:
Major Seminaries : Diocesan Minor Seminaries:
Congregation Minor Seminaries: Religious Formation Houses :
Men Religious Houses: Women Religious Houses:

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres:
Orphanages : Homes for Aged & Destitute :
Schools for Physically Challenged: Homes for Physically Challenged :
Crèches: Boarding Houses :
Counselling Centres : De-addiction Centre:
Social Centres : HIV / AIDS Centre:

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : Degree Colleges:
Parallel Colleges : Vocational / Technical Training Centres :
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : High Schools :
Upper Primary Schools: Lower Primary Schools:
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :Presses & Media Centres :


The new Diocese of Rayagada, bifurcated from the Diocese of Berhampur, in the State of Odisha, will comprise the civil districts of Kalahandi, Koraput, Malkangiri,Nabarangpur,Nuapada and Rayagada; it will be suffragan of the Archdiocese of Cuttack-Bhubaneswar.

Area of the territory of the new Diocese of Rayagada is 39,368.4 sq.km. with total population of 5,776,630,of which 61,827 is Catholic population. The Diocese has 31 Diocesan Priests, 16 Religious Priests, 95 Religious Sisters, 15 Major Seminarians, 270 Catechists, 24 Parishes, 336 Mission Stations, 8 Religious Houses for Men( 5 Congregations), 26 Religious Houses for Women (10 Congregations), 6 Primary Schools, 6 Middle Schools, 5 High Schools, 1 Hospital, 5 Dispensaries, 2 Creches and 4 Homes for the Aged. The languages spoken are Odia, Telugu, Hindi,English, Saura and Kui.

The Cathedral Church of the new Diocese, dedicated to Mary Queen of the Missions, will be located in the city of Rayagada.