Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Udupi

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Karnataka
Founded: 16 July 2012
Province: Bangalore
Status: Diocese
Total area: 3,500.75 Sq kms
Total Population : 1,445,240
Catholics Total: 66,329
Diocesan Priests: 58
Religious Priests: 28
Religious Sisters: 0
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Diocese of Udupi at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 57Retreat Centres: 0
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 01
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 01Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 0
Orphanages : 02Homes for Aged & Destitute : 03
Schools for Physically Challenged: 0Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 01
Social Centres : 05HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 02Degree Colleges: 04
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 0
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 07High Schools : 29
Upper Primary Schools: 32Lower Primary Schools:09
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :04Presses & Media Centres : 0


By virtue of an official proclamation dated 01 September, 1886, His Holiness Pope Leo XIII established the Catholic Hierarchy in India. In pursuance of this proclamation, several dioceses came to be created in India from time to time. The Diocese of Udupi (Latin Rite) was erected on 16.07.2012 by virtue of the Apostolic Constitution of His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI, ‘Cunctae Catholicae Ecclasiae’. On the same day the Most Rev. Dr Gerald Isaac Lobo, thus far Bishop of Shimoga, was appointed first Bishop of Udupi by His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI. The official inauguration of the Diocese of Udupi and Installation of Bishop Gerald Isaac Lobo as its first Bishop took place on 15 October, 2012 at the Milagres Cathedral Grounds at Kallianpur.

The Udupi District had been a part of the Diocese of Mangalore since 1887. The Civil District of Udupi, which hitherto belonged to the Diocese of Mangalore, was separated to form the new Diocese of Udupi comprising of the Taluks of Karkala, Kundapura and Udupi.  However at present the diocese of Udupi includes 7 Taluks viz Brahmavar, Byndoor, Hebri, Karkala, Kaup, Kundapur and Udupi. The diocese of Udupi extendes to a total area of 3,880 sq. kms; has a Catholic population of 65634 out of total population of 11, 77,361. It has 52 Parishes, 78 Diocesan Priests, 42 Religious Priest and 253 Women Religious.

The Udupi Diocese is a suffragan of the Archdiocese of Bangalore. The Church dedicated to Our Lady of Miracles (Milagres) at Kallianpur is the Cathedral of the Bishop of Udupi.