Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Ramanathapuram

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Syro-Malabar
Region : Tamil Nadu
Patron: St. Thomas
Founded: 18 January 2010
Province: Trichur
Status: Diocese
Total area: 18,525 sq km
Total Population : 89, 24,714
Catholics Total: 16,694
Diocesan Priests: 14
Religious Priests: 18
Religious Sisters: 308
Minor Seminarians: 09
Major Seminarians: 02

Diocese of Ramanathapuram at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 28Retreat Centres: 01
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 01Religious Formation Houses : 0
Men Religious Houses: 15Women Religious Houses: 42

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 02Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 05
Orphanages : 0Homes for Aged & Destitute : 02
Schools for Physically Challenged: 01Homes for Physically Challenged : 01
Crèches: 02Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 0
Social Centres : 01HIV / AIDS Centre: 01

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 0Degree Colleges: 0
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 0
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 03High Schools : 05
Upper Primary Schools: 08Lower Primary Schools:08
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :09Presses & Media Centres : 0


The Syrian Catholics, mostly the Syro-Malabar Catholics, from various parts of Kerala had started migrating to different areas of Tamiinadu years back, i.e., in the first half of the 20lh century, for the purpose of job, business etc. It was late Mgr. Zacharias Vazhappilly, former Vicar General of the diocese of Trichur who was appointed to coordinate the pastoral activities for the Syro-Malabar migrants in this area. Under the leadership of Mgr. Zacharias a team of priests and religious who were zealous, dedicated and hardworking continued their pastoral care. Eventually the number of migrants increased and it led to the arrangement of more infra-structures for pastoral care. It was thus that the first Forane in this area, i.e., Coimbatore Forane was formed centralizing Ramanathapuram, in the Month of November 1973. That forane comprised of ail the parishes and stations in the extended area of Tamilnadu of the diocese of Trichur. It was a milestone with regard to the pastoral care of the Syro Malabar migrants and the erection of the epachy of Palakkad.

In the light of the application of His Excellency Mar Jacob Manathodath, the Bishop of Palghat, the XVlth Synod of Bishops of the Sy ro-Malabar Church held at Mount St. Thomsts, Kakkanad in August 2008, after having considered the great distance from the eparchial headquarters at Palghat and the geographical, linguistic and cultural differences of the faithful in both areas, unanimously gave its approval for the erection of the eparchy of Ramanathapuram. Thus, after due consultation in the Synod of Bishops and having obtained its consent and the assent of the Apostolic See, and having fulfilled everything required by law, as per the decree of 18th January 2010 with Prot. No 57/2010, His Beatitude Mar Varkey Cardinal Vithayathil, the Major Archbishop of the Syro-Malabar Church, by virtue of the authority vested in him and in accordance with CCEO c. 85#1T erected the Eparchy of Ramanathapuram, bifurcating tho eparchy of Paighat. Thus the new eparchy Has its territory comprising the four civil districts of Tamil Nadu namely, Coimbatore, Erode, Karur, Tirupurand its See in the City of Rmanathapuram in the civil district of Coimbatore. Fr. Paul Alappatt, a priest from the Archeparchy of Trichur was appointed as its first Bishop the same day (Prot. 58/2010).