Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Warangal

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Syro-Malabar
Region : Andhra Pradesh
Patron: Our Lady of Fatima
Founded: 22 December 1952
Province: Hyderabad
Status: Diocese
Total area: 24,702 Sq. km
Total Population : 7,934,875
Catholics Total: 71,406
Diocesan Priests: 88
Religious Priests: 59
Religious Sisters: 489
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Diocese of Warangal at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 62Retreat Centres: 02
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 17
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 01Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 10
Orphanages : 01Homes for Aged & Destitute : 05
Schools for Physically Challenged: 03Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 04
Social Centres : 09HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 02Degree Colleges: 01
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 07
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 03High Schools : 60
Upper Primary Schools: 01Lower Primary Schools:09
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :0Presses & Media Centres : 0


The Diocese of Warangal was detached from the ecclesiastical territory of Hyderabad and was created by the Apostolic Constitution of Pius XII on December 22, 1952. Bp Alphonsus Beretta, PIME, was appointed the First Bishop of Warangal, transferring him from the See of Hyderabad. It comprised then of the civil districts of Warangal, Nalgonda, Khammam and Karimnagar. In 1977 the civil district of Nalgonda was separated and formed into a new Diocese of Nalgonda. In December 1985 Bp A. Beretta, PIME, retired. Msgr K. Joseph was the Administrator in 1986, Bp Thumma Bala has taken over the diocese as the second Bishop in March 1987. He hails from the same Diocese of Warangal. In 1988 the civil district of Khammam has been separated and formed into a new Diocese of Khammam. Now the Diocese is left with the civil districts of Warangal and Karimnagar.

Former Bishops

Most Rev. Alphonsus Beretta, P.I.M.E.Bishop1953-1985