Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Vellore 

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Tamil Nadu
Patron: Mary Help of Christians, Dominic Savio & Maria Goretti
Founded: 13 November 1952
Province: Madras-Mylapore
Status: Diocese
Total area: 12,265 Sq. kms.
Total Population : 6,397,071
Catholics Total: 135,550
Diocesan Priests: 147
Religious Priests: 75
Religious Sisters: 650
Minor Seminarians: 28
Major Seminarians: 16

Diocese of Vellore  at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 84Retreat Centres: 01
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 04
Men Religious Houses: 40Women Religious Houses: 105

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 02Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 24
Orphanages : 31Homes for Aged & Destitute : 04
Schools for Physically Challenged: 02Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 03Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 01
Social Centres : 08HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 12Degree Colleges: 04
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 22
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 32High Schools : 23
Upper Primary Schools: 10Lower Primary Schools:66
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :04Presses & Media Centres : 01


The District of North Arcot (here after called as Vellore District) with exclusion of the Arakkonam, Walajapet and Gudiyattam Taluks formed part of the Pondicherry Archdiocese upto 1928.

When the Archdiocese of Madras was entrusted to Salesians of Don Bosco in 1928, the whole civil district of Vellore (except the three taluks of Palmaner, Tiruthani and Chittur in the civil district of Chittur) was attached to the old Archdiocese of Madras (Chennai). On November 13, 1952, when the Archdiocese was amalgamated and made into the Archdiocese of Madras - Mylapore, Vellore district with the above three taluks of Chittur district, were detached from the old Archdiocese of Madras and created into the Diocese of Vellore, which comprises the districts of Vellore (excluding its two taluks of Chengam and Tiruvannamalai) and a part of the district of Chittur (i.e. the two taluks of Palmaner and Chittur) and the taluks of Tiruthani in the district of Chingleput.
By a decree, Pro., No. 6404 / 69, dated September 1, 1969 of the Sacred Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples, the taluk of Tiruthani in the district of Chingleput belonging to the Diocese of Vellore was detached from it and added to the Archdiocese of Madras - Mylapore, and the Taluks of Tiruvannamalai and Chengam in the district of Vellore belonging to the Archdiocese of Pondicherry - Cuddalore were detached from it and added to the Diocese of Vellore.
By a decree, Prot. No. 218 / 75 dated January 20, 1975, of the Sacred Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples, the five taluks of the civil district of Chittur, namely, Chittur, Palmaner, Kuppam, Bangarupalayam and Stayavedu belonging to the Diocese of Vellore were detached from it and added to the diocese of Nellore, Andhra Pradesh. The civil district of North Arcot was divided into Vellore district and Tiruvannamalai district in October 1989. So the Diocese of Vellore now comprises both the civil districts of Vellore, Tiruvannamalai formerly known as North Arcot Ambedkar and Tiruvannamalai Sambuvarayar districts.

Former Bishops

Most Rev. A. M. Malayappan Chinnappa, SDBBishop1993-2005
Most Rev. Michael AugustineBishop1981-1992
Most Rev. Royappan Antony Muthu Bishop1970-1980
Most Rev. David Maryanayagam Swamidoss Pillai, SDBBishop1956-1969
Most Rev. Pablo Mariaselvam, SDBBishop1953-1954