Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Ujjain 

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Syro-Malabar
Region : Madhya Pradesh
Patron: St. Paul
Founded: 29 July 1968
Province: Bhopal
Status: Diocese
Total area: 18,255sq. kms
Total Population : 5,045,491
Catholics Total: 4000
Diocesan Priests: 41
Religious Priests: 55
Religious Sisters: 268
Minor Seminarians: 29
Major Seminarians: 11

Diocese of Ujjain  at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 41Retreat Centres: 01
Major Seminaries : 01Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 01
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 01Religious Formation Houses : 0
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 59

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 03Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 08
Orphanages : 17Homes for Aged & Destitute : 03
Schools for Physically Challenged: 09Homes for Physically Challenged : 04
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 19
Counselling Centres : 01De-addiction Centre: 0
Social Centres : 01HIV / AIDS Centre: 01

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 0Degree Colleges: 0
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 0
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 12High Schools : 19
Upper Primary Schools: 10Lower Primary Schools:01
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :32Presses & Media Centres : 01


The Exarchate of Ujjain of the Syro-Malabar Rite was erected by Pope Paul VI on July 29, 1968 by the Papal Bull "Apostolicum Munus" and entrusted to the Missionary Society of St. Thomas the Apostle of the Syro - Malabar Church.

It consists of three civil districts of M.P. - Ujjain, Shajapur and Raigarh, dismembered from the Diocese of Indore. Msgr John Perumattam was nominated the first Exarch of Ujjain. By the Papal Bull "Qui Divino Consilio" of Pope Pius VI dated February 26, 1977, the Exarchate of Ujjain was erected as diocese and the Exarch Msgr John Perumattam was appointed its First Bishop.

Former Bishops

Most Rev. John Perumattam MSTPrelates1977-1998