Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Tiruchirapalli

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Tamil Nadu
Patron: Immaculate Conceptions
Founded: 19 May 1846
Province: Madurai
Status: Diocese
Total area: 12,144 Sq. km
Total Population : 2,156,765
Catholics Total: 172,053
Diocesan Priests: 101
Religious Priests: 132
Religious Sisters: 870
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Diocese of Tiruchirapalli at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 67Retreat Centres: 03
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 24
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 04Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 20
Orphanages : 11Homes for Aged & Destitute : 06
Schools for Physically Challenged: 02Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 08
Social Centres : 16HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 04Degree Colleges: 05
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 24
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 31High Schools : 20
Upper Primary Schools: 17Lower Primary Schools:60
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :02Presses & Media Centres : 03


In 1836 Pope Gregory XIV made Madurai into an Apostolic Prefecture; in 1846 it was raised to an Apostolic Vicariate and entrusted to the Fathers of Society of Jesus. On September 1, 1886 the Vicariate became a diocese with the Episcopal residence fixed at Tiruchirapalli with Msgr Alexis Canoz, sj, as its First Bishop and the territory was called the Diocese of Tiruchirapalli.

In 1923 Pope Pius XI separated the South Eastern part of the diocese known as the Fishery Coast and made it into a separate Diocese of Tuticorin. In 1938 again the South Western portion was divided and made into the Archdiocese of Madurai by the Bull "Si inter infideles".

The present Diocese of Tiruchirapalli comprises Tiruchy and Manaparai taluks of Tiruchirapalli district, Kulitalai taluk of Karur district, Dindigul, Vedasandur and Palani taluks of Dindigul district, and Kulathur taluk of Pudukkottai district. The diocese consists of 74 parishes grouped into four Vicariates, Vicariates of Tiruchirapalli, Manaparai, Dindigul and Keeranur.

Pilgrim Centres

Pilgrim Centres:  

Former Bishops

Most Rev. Antony Devotta
Bishop Emeritus of Tiruchirappalli
Personal Details
Priestly Ordination:27-Aug-1971
Episcopal Ordination:28-Jan-2001

Tel(P): 08508530076
Email(P): bishop@trichydiocese.org
Contact Details
St. Augustine’s Minor Seminary, Opp. Head Post Office, Tiruchirapalli-620 001 (Tamilnadu)
Tel(O): 0431-24 15 635,
Fax : 24 17 502
Email : trichidio@rediffmail.com
Most Rev. Sengole Lawrence GabrielBishop1990-1997
Most Rev. Thomas FernandoBishop1970-1990
Most Rev. James MendoncaBishop1938-1970
Most Rev. John Peter Leonard, S.JBishop1936-1938
Most Rev. Ange-Auguste Faisandier, S.J.Bishop1913-1934
Most Rev. Jean-Marie Barthe, S.J.Bishop1890-1913
Most Rev. Bishop Alexis CanozBishop1846-1888