Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Thanjavur

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Tamil Nadu
Patron: Sacred Heart of Jesus, Our Lady of Health Veilankanni
Founded: 13 November 1952
Province: Pondicherry-Cuddalore
Status: Diocese
Total area: 9,583 Kms
Total Population : 4,874,451
Catholics Total: 2,39,630
Diocesan Priests: 185
Religious Priests: 43
Religious Sisters: 650
Minor Seminarians: 26
Major Seminarians: 20

Diocese of Thanjavur at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 1124Retreat Centres: 02
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 01
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 04Religious Formation Houses : 06
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 144

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 03Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 08
Orphanages : 37Homes for Aged & Destitute : 02
Schools for Physically Challenged: 0Homes for Physically Challenged : 01
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 03De-addiction Centre: 0
Social Centres : 02HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 10Degree Colleges: 06
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 03
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 28High Schools : 53
Upper Primary Schools: 35Lower Primary Schools:81
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :0Presses & Media Centres : 02


The Diocese of Thanjavur covers the entire area of the District of Thanjavur and the newly formed districts of Nagapattinam and Tiruvarur (with the exception of two Taluks, namely Kumbakonam and Papanasam). The diocese also covers seven Taluks of Pudukkottai and one Taluk of South Arcot district.

The Diocese of Thanjavur originally forming part of the southern portion of the ancient Dioceses of Mylapore, was separated from Mylapore and erected into a Diocese on November 23, 1952 by the Holy See by the Bull of erection "Exprimaevae Ecclesiae". The town of Thanjavur was made the Episcopal See and the Sacred Heart Church, Thanjavur, the Cathedral.

The Diocese of Thanjavur is bounded on the east by the Bay of Bengal, on the west by the boundaries of Trichy and South Arcot districts, on the north by the river Vellar and on the south by Ramnad district.

The territory constituting the present Diocese of Thanjavur, had been the fruitful field of heroic labours of Portuguese Padroado Fathers from Goa and other Fathers such as the Franciscans, the Jesuits, the Foreign Missionary Society of Paris, the Salesians and members of the Diocesan Clergy.

Bp R. A. Sundaram was appointed the First Bishop of Thanjavur.

Pilgrim Centres

Pilgrim Centres:  

Former Bishops

Right Rev. M. Devadass Ambrose
Bishop Emeritus of Thanjavur
Personal Details
Priestly Ordination:5-Aug-1974
Episcopal Ordination:24-Sep-1997

Tel(P): (0)8778179005, (0)7339091769
Email(P): devadassambrose@gmail.com
Contact Details
Bishop’s House, Post Box. No. 204, V.O.C. Nagar Post, Thanjavur - 613 007 (Tamilnadu)
Tel(O): 04362-23 12 52,
Fax : 23 55 24,
Email : bishop_tnj@sancharnet.in
Most Rev. P. Arokiaswamy Bishop1986-1997
Most Rev. R.A. SundaramBishop1953-1986