Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Satna

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Syro-Malabar
Region : Madhya Pradesh
Patron: St. Vincent De Paul
Founded: 29 July 1968
Province: Bhopal
Status: Diocese
Total area: 45,188 Sq. Kms
Total Population : 1, 11, 20,815
Catholics Total: 3,030
Diocesan Priests: 47
Religious Priests: 17
Religious Sisters: 149
Minor Seminarians: 17
Major Seminarians: 17

Diocese of Satna at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 25Retreat Centres: 0
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 01
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 01Religious Formation Houses : 0
Men Religious Houses: 05Women Religious Houses: 36

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 02Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 06
Orphanages : 01Homes for Aged & Destitute : 0
Schools for Physically Challenged: 0Homes for Physically Challenged : 03
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 0
Social Centres : 0HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 0Degree Colleges: 0
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 0
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 0High Schools : 16
Upper Primary Schools: 05Lower Primary Schools:0
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :11Presses & Media Centres : 0


The Apostolic Exarchate of Satna of the Syro - Malabar Rite was erected by the Papal Bull "In More Est" dated July 29, 1968 and was entrusted to the Vincentian Congregation (Syro - Malabar). Bifurcated from the diocese of Jabalpur, it comprises six civil districts in Madhya Pradesh, namely Sidhi, Rewa, Satna, Panna, Chhatarpur and Tikamgargh. At the inception of the exarchate, there was only one station in the whole area, namely, Rewa. The Exarchate was made a suffragan ad instar to the Archdiocese of Bhopal. Msgr. Abraham D. Mattam, vc, was nominated as its Apostolic Exarch.

On February 26, 1977 by the Papal Bull "Ecclesiarum Orientalium" of Pope Paul VI, the Exarchate was raised to the status of an Eparchy. Mar Abraham D. Mattam was appointed as the first Bishop of Satna, who was consecrated bishop, on April 30, 1977. Installation and the erection of the Diocese of Satna took place on July 31, 1977. He served the diocese for the last 32 years, in his capacity both as the Exarch and the Bishop. Mar Mathew Vaniakizhakkel, vc, was appointed on January 14, 2000, consecrated and installed as Bishop of Satna on April 12, 2000.

As per census of 1991, the population of the area is about 71 lakhs, of which 17% people belong to Schedule Castes and 14% belongs to Schedule Tribes. People of this area are mainly dependent on agriculture.

Former Bishops

Right Rev. Mathew Vaniakizhakkel, VC
Bishop Emeritus of Satna
Personal Details
Priestly Ordination:18-Dec-1972
Episcopal Ordination:12-Apr-2000

Tel(P): 09446133280
Email(P): vaniakizhakkel@yahoo.com
Contact Details
Vincentian Vidya Bhavan U. C. College P.O., P. B. No.603, Aluva, Kerala - 683 102
Tel(O): 07672-22 41 67
Fax : 22 56 67
Email : satnadiocese@gmail.com
Right Rev. Mathew Vaniakizhakkel, VCHonorary Member--