Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Archdiocese of Nagpur 

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Patron: St. Francis de Sales
Founded: 11 July 1887
Province: Nagpur
Status: Archdiocese
Total area: 59,024 sq. kms.
Total Population : 11,000,000
Catholics Total: 19,440
Diocesan Priests: 52
Religious Priests: 80
Religious Sisters: 421
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Archdiocese of Nagpur  at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 34Retreat Centres: 0
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 18
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 02Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 09
Orphanages : 02Homes for Aged & Destitute : 01
Schools for Physically Challenged: 02Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 01
Social Centres : 08HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 02Degree Colleges: 01
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 05
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 07High Schools : 23
Upper Primary Schools: 02Lower Primary Schools:19
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :05Presses & Media Centres : 02


        The Archdiocese of Nagpur is situated roughly in the middle of India. It now comprises the districts of Nagpur and Bhandara in Maharashtra state, and the districts of Betul, Chhindwara, Seoni (except the tehsil of Lakhnadon) and Balaghat in Madhya Pradesh. The diocese was originally formed by dismemberment of what was then known as the Central Provinces and Berar, from the Diocese of Visakhapatnam in 1887. It was entrusted to the care of Fathers of St. Francis de Sales.

On July 18, 1932 the Brief "De Romanorum Pontificum" erected the Prefecture of Jabalpur (now diocese) by separating from the Diocese of Visakhapatnam in 1887. It was entrusted to the care of Fathers of St. Francis de Sales.

Again on March 11, 1935, the Decree "Salutis Animarum" of the S.C. of the Propagation of Faith erected the Prefecture of Indore (now diocese) comprising parts of the Diocese of Ajmer, Allahabad and Nagpur, namely, the districts of Hoshangabad and Khandwa.

Further on May 8, 1935, the Decree "Cum Petierit" erected the Diocese of Amravati by taking away from the Nagpur Archdiocese the four districts of Berar (Amravati, Akola, Buldana and Yeotmal) and the three districts of Marathwada (Aurangabad and parts of Parbhani and Nanded. The other parts of Parbhani and Nanded belonged to the Archdiocese of Hyderabad).

On March 31, 1962, the Apostolic Decree "Ad Lucem Sancti Evangelii" erected the Exarchate of Chanda from the three districts of Wardha, Chanda and Adilabad, till then part of Nagpur Archdiocese. This was entrusted to the Carmelites of Mary Immaculate, of the Syro-Malabar Rite. In 1976 Chanda Exarchate was made into a diocese.

On January 16, 1964 by the Bull "Religio Vera Christique Salus" the districts of Raipur, Durg and Bilaspur were further detached from the Nagpur Archdiocese to form the Prefecture of Raipur which was entrusted to the Pallottine Fathers and later given the status of diocese in March 1974.

In September 1953, Nagpur was raised to an Archbishopric, with Amravati and Chanda diocese as its Suffragans. Most Rev. Eugene D'Souza was the first Indian Bishop and later Archbishop of Nagpur.

Former Bishops

Most Rev. Leobard D'SouzaArchbishop1975-1988
Most Rev. Leonard RaymondArchbishop1964-1974
Most Rev. Eugene D'SouzaArchbishop1951-1964
Most Rev. Louis F. Gayet Archbishop1933-1950
Most Rev. Francis Stephen CoppelArchbishop1907-1933
Most Rev. Stephen BonaventureArchbishop1904-1907
Most Rev. John Mary CrochetArchbishop1900-1903
Most Rev. Charles PelvatArchbishop1893-1900
Most Rev. Alexix RiccazArchbishop1887-1892