Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Mysore

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Karnataka
Patron: St. Joseph
Founded: 1 September 1886
Province: Bangalore
Status: Diocese
Total area: 21,051 Sq.km
Total Population : 5,940,262
Catholics Total: 63,218
Diocesan Priests: 98
Religious Priests: 22
Religious Sisters: 863
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Diocese of Mysore at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 76Retreat Centres: 0
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 34
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 09Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 14
Orphanages : 05Homes for Aged & Destitute : 05
Schools for Physically Challenged: 04Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 08
Social Centres : 07HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 05Degree Colleges: 03
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 05
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 21High Schools : 54
Upper Primary Schools: 54Lower Primary Schools:23
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :22Presses & Media Centres : 04


The Mission of Mysore was separated from the Vicariate Apostolic of Pondicherry on March 16, 1845, to become first a pro-Vicariate, and then in 1850 a Vicariate Apostolic entrusted to Msgr Charbonnaux who was, till then, Co-adjutor to the Bishop of Pondicherry.

In 1886, the Vicariate of Mysore was elevated to a Diocese, and its Vicar Apostolic, Msgr Coadou became its First Bishop, residing, however, in Bangalore. Untill 1940, the Diocese of Mysore included the entire districts of Mysore, Coorg and Kollegal, but on February 13, 1940, by the Apostolic Letter "Felicius Increscente" of Pius XII, Bangalore was separated from Mysore and the Bishop of former Mysore Diocese Bp M.B. Despatures became the Bishop of Bangalore, comprising the districts of Bangalore, Kolar, Tumkur and Chitradurga.

The Diocese of Mysore (as distinct from Bangalore) was reconstituted in 1941 with the addition of the Nilgiris district and part of the Coimbatore district.

However 15 years later, on July 3, 1955, by the Apostolic Constitution "Nuntiatur in Psalmis" of Pope Pius XII, these districts of Nilgiris and Coimbatore were again separated from Mysore and erected into Diocese of Ootacamund (Ooty) in Tamil Nadu.

On November 16, 1963, by the Apostolic Constitution "Indicae Regionis Conditio" of Pope Paul VI, three most districts, Chikmagalur, Hassan, Shimoga, were separated from the Mysore Diocese to form the Diocese of Chikmagalur.

The present Diocese of Mysore comprises the four districts of Mysore, Mandya, Coorg & Chamarajanagara. It is surrounded by the Archdiocese of Bangalore, Diocese of Ooty, Calicut, Mangalore and Chikmagalur.

Former Bishops

Right Rev. Thomas Antony Vazhapilly
Bishop Emeritus of Mysore
Personal Details
Priestly Ordination:2-Dec-1964
Episcopal Ordination:25-Mar-2003

Tel(P): 09611108395
Email(P): ----
Contact Details
Prashantha Nilaya, B. N. Road, Bannimantap B Layout Mysore - 570 015 (Karnataka)
Tel(O): 0821-24 43 545
Fax : 25 65 708
Email : bishmysore@gmail.com
Most Rev. Joseph RoyBishop1994-2003
Most Rev. Francis MichaelappaBishop1986-1993
Most Rev. Eugène-Louis Kleiner, M.E.P.Bishop1980-1910
Most Rev. Sebastiäo Francisco Mathias Fernandes Bishop1963-1985
Most Rev. René-Jean-Baptiste-Germain FeugaApostolic Administrator1962-1963
Most Rev. Vincent D’SouzaAuxiliary Bishop1959-1961
Most Rev. René-Jean-Baptiste-Germain FeugaBishop1941-1962
Most Rev. Maurice-Bernard-Benoit-Joseph Despatures,Bishop1922-1940
Most Rev. Hippolyte Teissier, M.E.P.Bishop1916-1922
Most Rev. Augustin-François Baslé, M.E.P.Bishop1910-1915
Most Rev. Jean-Yves-Marie Coadou, M.E.P.Bishop1886-1890
Most Rev. Jean-Yves-Marie Coadou, M.E.P. Apostolic Administrator1880-1886
Most Rev. Joseph-Auguste Chevalier, M.E.P. Apostolic Administrator1873-1880
Most Rev. Etienne-Louis Charbonnaux, M.E.P.Apostolic Administrator1850-1873