Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Muzaffarpur

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Bijhan
Patron: Our Lady of Perpetual Help
Founded: 6 March 1980
Province: Patna
Status: Diocese
Total area: 27,120 Sq. km
Total Population : 22,039,714
Catholics Total: 5,212
Diocesan Priests: 32
Religious Priests: 11
Religious Sisters: 100
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Diocese of Muzaffarpur at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 21Retreat Centres: 01
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 02
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 03Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 14
Orphanages : 0Homes for Aged & Destitute : 03
Schools for Physically Challenged: 0Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 0
Social Centres : 12HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 0Degree Colleges: 0
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 0
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 02High Schools : 07
Upper Primary Schools: 07Lower Primary Schools:11
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :01Presses & Media Centres : 03


The history of Evangelization in the present Diocese of Muzaffarpur goes back to the 18th century when the Congregation of the Propagation of Faith erected the prefecture of Tibet-Hindustan in 1703 and entrusted it to the Capuchin Fathers of the Italian Province of Picenum in the Marches of Ancona. Father John Francis of Camerion, O.F.M. Cap.was appointed its Prefect.

On March 28, 1980, when Pope John Paul II accepted the resignation of the Bishop of Patna, the same year Patna Diocese was divided into two units, Patna and Muzaffarpur. Father Benedict J. Osta, S.J. succeeded Bishop Augustine Wildermuth, S.J. as the new Bishop of Patna, and Father John B. Thakur S.J. became the first Bishop of the new Diocese of Muzaffarpur.

On June 24, 1980 in Bettiah, Fr. John B. Thakur was consecrated the Bishop of Muzaffarpur. The period from 1980 till 1998 witnessed a marked expansion of the number of people working in the area.A minor seminary was begun in Muzaffarpur.Likewise a number of Sisters, Brothers and Priests congregations opted to come to Muzaffarpur to work in the Diocese. These were serving in 20 parishes with resident priests, 30 Mission Stations, visited by the neighbouring parishes.  High schools, Middle schools, Teacher Training schools and non-formal schools began to abound, as well as Health care Centres and Dispensaries. 
By a decree of His Holiness, Pope John Paul II, dated August 4, 1998, the Diocese of Muzaffarpur was bifurcated, and the new Diocese of Bettiah was created comprising the five districts of East and West Champaran, Gopalganj, Siwan and Saran.

Muzaffarpur Diocese now comprises the following 12 Civil Districts of the State of Bihar: Muzaffarpur, Vaishali, Samastipur, Sitamarhi, Darbhanga, Madhubani, Saharsa, Begusarai, Madhepura, Khagaria, Shivhar and Supaul. 

Former Bishops

Right Rev. John Baptist Thakur, SJ
Bishop Emeritus of Muzaffarpur
Personal Details
Priestly Ordination:19-Mar-1966
Episcopal Ordination:24-Jun-1980

Tel(P): 09801008887
Email(P):  jbthakursj@gmail.com
Contact Details
Xavier Bhawan, Atma Darshan Campus, P.O. Digha Ghat - 800 011 Patna (Bihar)
Tel(O): 0621-22 43 225
Fax : 22 43 225
Email : muzdioc@sancharnet.in