Dioceses of India
Total: 1
Madras - Mylapore

Archdiocese of Madras - Mylapore

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Tamil Nadu
Patron: St. Thomas Apostle, Our Lady of Mylapore
Founded: 4 July 1832
Province: Madras-Mylapore
Status: Archdiocese
Total area: 3,160 Sq. km
Total Population : 7,096,401
Catholics Total: 331,881
Diocesan Priests: 149
Religious Priests: 188
Religious Sisters: 46
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Archdiocese of Madras - Mylapore at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 130Retreat Centres: 0
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 24
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 44Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 0
Orphanages : 27Homes for Aged & Destitute : 05
Schools for Physically Challenged: 04Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 04
Social Centres : 23HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 05Degree Colleges: 14
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 45
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 68High Schools : 43
Upper Primary Schools: 13Lower Primary Schools:60
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :05Presses & Media Centres : 13


The Archdiocese of Madras - Mylapore is in the state of Tamil Nadu and includes the city of Chennai and districts of Thiruvallur and Kancheepuram.

According to the tradition, Christianity was introduced into Mylapore and its suburbs by the Apostle St. Thomas. He was martyred on St. Thomas Mount near Mylapore, in 72. A.D., and his remains were buried at Mylapore in the sepulchre which lies in the Cathedral Basilica.

The old diocese of Mylapore was erected by Pope Paul V on 9th January, 1606.

The Vicariate Apostolic of Madras was created on 4th July, 1832 and confirmed on 25th April, 1934. This Vicariate Apostolic was raised to an Archepiscopal See on 1st September, 1886.

The Diocese of Mylapore was from the very beginning under the Portuguese Padroado and in 1950 passed over to the jurisdiction of the Sacred Congregation for the Propagation of the Faith.

By the Apostolic Constitution "Exprimaevae Ecclesae" of 13th November, 1952, portions of the Archdiocese of Madras and the Diocese of Mylapore were dismembered. From the western portion of the Archdiocese of Madras, the Diocese of Vellore was created. The extreme southern portion of the Diocese of Mylapore was created into the Diocese of Thanjavur. From the remaining portions a new Archdiocese was created, to be known as the Archdiocese of Madras-Mylapore. On 14th November, 1952 Most Rev Dr. Louis Mathias, sdb, was transferred from the old Archdiocese of Madras to the new Archdiocese of Madras-Mylapore, and on 29th November 1952, made his solemn entry and took charge of the new Archdiocese.

Pilgrim Centres

Saints / Blessed:  
Pilgrim Centres:  

Former Bishops

Most Rev. A. M. Malayappan Chinnappa, SDB
Archbishop Emeritus of Madras - Mylapore
Personal Details
Priestly Ordination:16-Dec-1972
Episcopal Ordination:25-Jan-1994
Period: 2005- 2012

Tel(P): 09444941026,044-22761620
Email(P): archbishopamcsdb@gmail.com
Contact Details
No. 1, Annai Indhra Nagar, Old Perungalathur, Chennai-600063 (Tamilnadu)
Tel(O): 044-24 64 11 02, 24 64 08 33
Fax : 044 - 24 64 19 99
Email : archmsml@gmail.com
Right Rev. Lawrence Pius Dorairaj Auxiliary Bishop1998-2012
Most Rev. Arul Das James Archbishop1994-2004
Most Rev. Casimir Gnanadickam, SJ - Madras-MylaporeArchbishop1987-1993
Most Rev. R. Arulappa - Madras-MylaporeArchbishop1966-1987
Most Rev. Louis Mathias, SDB - MadrasArchbishop1952-1965
Most Rev. Manuel de Medeiros Guerreiro- MylaporeBishop1937-1951
Most Rev. Louis Mathias, SDB - MadrasBishop1935-1952
Most Rev. Carlos de Sa Fragoso - MylaporeBishop1933-1937
Most Rev. Antonio Maria Teixeira - MylaporeBishop1929-1933
Most Rev. Eugene Mederlet - MadrasBishop1928-1935
Most Rev. John AelenBishop1912-1928
Most Rev. Theotonio Emmanuel Ribeiro Vieira de Castro - MylaporeBishop1899-1929
Most Rev. Antonio de souza Barroso - MylaporeBishop1897-1899
Most Rev. Jose Henrique Reed de Silva - MylaporeBishop1887-1897
Most Rev. Joseph Colgan - MadrasBishop1882-1911
Most Rev. Stephen Fennelly - MadrasBishop1862-1880
Most Rev. John Fennelly - MadrasBishop1841-1868
Most Rev. Patrick Joseph Carew - MadrasBishop1838-1841
Most Rev. Daniel O' Connor, OSA - MadrasBishop1834-1840
Most Rev. Pedro de Alcantra, OCD - MadrasBishop1833-1833
Most Rev. John Bede Polding, OSB - MadrasBishop1832-1832
Most Rev. Estevo de Jesus Maria, OM - MylaporeBishop1826-1828
Most Rev. Dom Estevo de Jesus Maria, OM - MylaporeOthers1826-1828
Most Rev. Joaqim de Menez Athaide, OSA - MylaporeBishop1805-1811
Most Rev. Manoel de Jesus Maria Jose, OSA - Mylapore Bishop1788-1800
Most Rev. Antonia da Assumpcao, OSA - MylaporeBishop1780-1788
Most Rev. Bernardo de S Caetano, OSA - MylaporeBishop1755-1780
Most Rev. Theodardo de Santa Maria, OSA - MylaporeBishop1750-1755
Most Rev. Antonio de Incarnacao, OSA - MylaporeBishop1745-1750
Most Rev. Jose Pinheiro, SJ - MylaporeBishop1725-1745
Most Rev. Eugenio Trigueiros - MylaporeBishop1723-1725
Most Rev. Manoel Sanchez Golao - MylaporeBishop1715-1723
Most Rev. Francisco Laynes, SJ - MylaporeBishop1710-1715
Most Rev. Francisco Laynes, SJ - MylaporeBishop1710-1715
Most Rev. Gaspar Alfonso Alvares SJ - MylaporeBishop1693-1710
Most Rev. Luiz Paulo da Estrella, OM- MylaporeBishop1634-1637
Most Rev. Luiz de Brito Menezes, OSA - MylaporeBishop1615-1634
Most Rev. Sebastio de S Pedro, OSA - MylaporeBishop1606-1615