Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Lucknow

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Agra
Patron: St. Joseph, St. Francis of Assisi
Founded: 12 January 1940
Province: Agra
Status: Diocese
Total area: 45,125 sq kms
Total Population : 22,681,894
Catholics Total: 6,993
Diocesan Priests: 84
Religious Priests: 17
Religious Sisters: 200
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Diocese of Lucknow at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 39Retreat Centres: 0
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 06
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 06Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 07
Orphanages : 01Homes for Aged & Destitute : 0
Schools for Physically Challenged: 0Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 01
Social Centres : 02HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 05Degree Colleges: 01
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 03
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 28High Schools : 09
Upper Primary Schools: 07Lower Primary Schools:04
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :0Presses & Media Centres : 01


The Lucknow diocese erected on January 12, 1940, was part of the Diocese of Allahabad and when detached from it, comprised 10 districts of the Allahabad diocese (Lucknow, Unnao, Barabanki, Gonda, Bahraich, Sitapur, Kheri, Nainital and Almora), and two districts detached from the Archdiocese of Agra (Shahjahanpur and Pilibhit). The district of Bareilly was detached from Agra and joined to Lucknow diocese on Nov. 8, 1951, though it had already been cared for by Lucknow from September 1948, by common agreement between the Archbishop of Agra and the Bishop of lucknow. The district of Almora has been divided into two districts by Government Decree, dated February 24, 1960, the name of the other district being Pithoragarh.

At the time of erection of this diocese, Bp Angelo Poli, ofm cap, Bishop of Allahabad, was appointed Administrator of the new diocese.

Due to the war, the first Bishop of Lucknow was appointed only on December 12, 1946, and took possession of the diocese on Feb. 16, 1947.

Pope John Paul II, on February 4, 1989 erected the new Diocese of Bareilly, comprising the civil districts of Bareilly, Shahjahanpur, Pilibhit, Nainital, Almora and Pithoragarh, detaching from the territory of the Diocese of Lucknow.

At present the Diocese of Lucknow is comprised of eight civil districts of Uttar Pradesh: Lucknow, Unnao, Barabanki, Gonda, Bahraich, Sitapur, Hardoi and Kheri.

Former Bishops

Most Rev. RAPHY MANJALYBishop2000-2007
Most Rev. Alan Basil de LasticBishop1984-1990
Most Rev. Cecil DeSaBishop1971-1983
Most Rev. Albert Conrad de Vito, O.F.M. Cap.Bishop1946-1970
Most Rev. Joseph Angelo Poii OFM Cap Apostolic Administrator1940-1946