Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Kottapuram

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Kerala
Patron: St. Thomas
Founded: 3 July 1987
Province: Verapoly
Status: Diocese
Total area: 3300 Sq.km
Total Population : 36,01,598
Catholics Total: 88683
Diocesan Priests: 105
Religious Priests: 101
Religious Sisters: 604
Minor Seminarians: 29
Major Seminarians: 30

Diocese of Kottapuram at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 158Retreat Centres: 0
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 02
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 17
Men Religious Houses: 10Women Religious Houses: 42

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 02Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 04
Orphanages : 08Homes for Aged & Destitute : 0
Schools for Physically Challenged: 0Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 03
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 0
Social Centres : 0HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 0Degree Colleges: 05
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 14
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 02High Schools : 11
Upper Primary Schools: 14Lower Primary Schools:32
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :32Presses & Media Centres : 0


The Diocese of Kottapuram lies in the civil districts of Ernakulam, Trichur, Malapuram and Palakkad of Kerala State. It has its headquarters at Kottapuram near the ancient city of Cranganore(Muziris). It has a population of about 88,683 Latin Catholics.

During the reign of Most Rev. Dr. Joseph Kelanthara,Archbishop of Verapoly the process of bifurcation of the Archdiocese was first started. On the demise of the Most Rev. Dr. Joseph Kelanthara, Protonotary Apostolic Rt. Rev. Msgr. Emmanuel Lopez was elected Administrator on October 19, 1986.

     The Most Rev. Dr. Cornelius Elanjikal, was nominated the Archbishop of Verapoly and took charge of the office on March 19, 1987. His Pallium investiture took place on June 29, 1987, by the Most Holy Father Pope John Paul II. As the first prominent fruit of his reign, with the permission from the Most Holy Father, by the Papal Bull “Que Aptius” dated 3 rd July 1987, the Diocese of Kottapuram was erected and the solemn declaration of the same was made on 1st August 1987.

     His Excellency Rt. Rev. Dr. Francis Kallarakal was appointed the First Bishop of the New Born Babe by the Apostolic Letter “Romani et Pontificis” dated 3rd July 1987. Together with the Episcopal Ordination of the Bishop elect Rev.Dr.Francis Kallarakal, on the feast day of St. Francis Assisi, the Diocese of Kottapuram was officially inaugurated on October 4, 1987.

      Dr. Joseph Karikkassery Appointed as the Bishop of Kottapuram 18 December 2010. Pope Benedict XVI appointed Rt. Rev. Dr. Joseph Karikkassery Auxiliary Bishop of Archdiocese of Verapoly, the bishop of Kottapuram diocese. He took charge of the office on 13th April 2011.

Pilgrim Centres

Pilgrim Centres:  

Former Bishops

Right Rev. Joseph Karikkassery
Bishop Emeritus of Kottapuram
Personal Details
Priestly Ordination:19-Dec-1973
Episcopal Ordination:28-Dec-2006

Tel(P): 0480-2802865
Email(P): bpkarikkassery@gmail.com
Contact Details
Bishop’s House, Kottapuram P. O., Kodungallur - 680 667 (Kerala)
Tel(O): 0480-28 02 165
Fax : 28 02 865
Email : kottapuramdiocese@gmail.com
Most Rev. Francis KallarakalBishop1987-2010