Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Jhabua 

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Madhya Pradesh
Patron: Our Lady of Annunciation
Founded: 25 March 2002
Province: Bhopal
Status: Diocese
Total area: 21,366 sq. kms.
Total Population : 40,23,251
Catholics Total: 37,338
Diocesan Priests: 47
Religious Priests: 22
Religious Sisters: 211
Minor Seminarians: 23
Major Seminarians: 25

Diocese of Jhabua  at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 31Retreat Centres: 02
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 01
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 0
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 23

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 02Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 10
Orphanages : 0Homes for Aged & Destitute : 02
Schools for Physically Challenged: 01Homes for Physically Challenged : 01
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 38
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 0
Social Centres : 01HIV / AIDS Centre: 01

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 0Degree Colleges: 0
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 01
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 09High Schools : 08
Upper Primary Schools: 09Lower Primary Schools:10
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :0Presses & Media Centres : 0


Catholic Diocese of Jhabua was erected on March 1, 2002 and came into existence on the 7th of June 2002, bifurcating the Catholic Diocese of Indore and Catholic Diocese of Udaipur, with Bishop Chacko Thottumarickal SVD as its first Bishop. The Diocese comprises of five civil districts namely Jhabua, Alirajpur, Ratlam, Mandsaur, Neemuch and Sardarpur Tehsil of Dhar district of Madhya Pradesh, on the border of Gujarat and Rajasthan states. The first mission station was started in 1896 at Thandla by Fr. Charles OFM. Cap the first Bhil missionary in Jhabua District.

On 24th October 2008, Bishop Chacko T. J. SVD was transferred to the Diocese of Indore as its Bishop. On the same day he was appointed as the Apostolic Administrator of the Jhabua Diocese. On the 11 may 2009, Holy Father Pope Benedict XVIth appointed Very Rev. Fr. Devprasad Ganawa SVD as the 2nd Bishop of Catholic Diocese of Jhabua. On 16th June 2009, he was ordained as Bishop of Jhabua Diocese.

Former Bishops

Right Rev. Thomas Mathew KuttimackalBishop2002-2008
Right Rev. Devprasad John Ganawa, SVDBishop 2009- 2012