Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Archdiocese of Hyderabad

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Andhra Pradesh
Patron: St. Joseph
Founded: 19 September 1953
Province: Hyderabad
Status: Archdiocese
Total area: 30,814 sq. kms.
Total Population : 12.37 million
Catholics Total: 1,12, 982
Diocesan Priests: 143
Religious Priests: 162
Religious Sisters: 1110
Minor Seminarians: 14
Major Seminarians: 13

Archdiocese of Hyderabad at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 114Retreat Centres: 05
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 01
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 25
Men Religious Houses: 48Women Religious Houses: 80

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 06Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 07
Orphanages : 05Homes for Aged & Destitute : 07
Schools for Physically Challenged: 0Homes for Physically Challenged : 02
Crèches: 01Boarding Houses : 18
Counselling Centres : 02De-addiction Centre: 03
Social Centres : 02HIV / AIDS Centre: 03

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 0Degree Colleges: 34
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 18
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 16High Schools : 74
Upper Primary Schools: 74Lower Primary Schools:40
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :14Presses & Media Centres : 03


Hyderabad was first made a Vicariate in 1851 and Msgr. Daniel Murphy was appointed the first Vicar Apostolic. 

The diocese of Hyderabad was established on September 1, 1886. Msgr. Peter Caprotti, PIME, became the first Bishop of Hyderabad. It was raised to the status of an Archdiocese on September 19, 1953. Bishop Mark Gopu became the first Archbishop. 

Over the years many new dioceses were created from the original territory of the Archdiocese. In 1928 districts of Raichur and Gulbarga were detached to form the diocese of Bellary. Krishna and West Godavari districts were detached in 1937 for the erection of the diocese of Vijayawada. Diocese of Warangal was established in 1952 with the districts of Warangal, Khammam, Nalgonda and Karimnagar. In 1976 the new diocese of Nalgonda was formed with Mahabubnagar district of Hyderabad Archdiocese and Nalgonda district of Warangal diocese. 

Marathi speaking areas of the Archdiocese were detached in 1978 to form the diocese of Aurangabad. Khammam was made a new diocese in February, 1988. On June 18, 1982 the district of Bidar was entrusted to the pastoral care of Mangalore diocese. 

The Archdiocese with an area of 30,814 sq. kms. and with a total population of around 12.37 million, has about 87,541 Catholics. It has 107 diocesan and 116 Religious priests, 37 Brothers and 729 Religious Sisters are active in 72 parishes, including one parish of Malankara rite.  

At present the Archdiocese has four districts of Andhra Pradesh - Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medak and Nizamabad.

Pilgrim Centres

Pilgrim Centres:  

Former Bishops

Most Rev. Thumma Bala
Archbishop Emeritus of Hyderabad
Personal Details
Priestly Ordination:21-Dec-1970
Episcopal Ordination:12-Mar-1987
Period:--Email(P): archdiohyd@gmail.com
Contact Details
Archbishop’s House, 9-1-17/1, 11, Sardar Patel Road, Secunderabad - 500 003 (Telangana)
Tel(O): 0870-24 59 128
Fax : 24 59 499
Email : archdiohyd@gmail.com
Most Rev. Marampudi JojiArchbishop2000-2010
Most Rev. Samineni ArulappaArchbishop1972-2000
Most Rev. Mark GopuArchbishop1953-1971
Most Rev. Alphonsus Beretta, PIMEBishop1950-1953
Most Rev. Dennis Vismara, PIMEBishop1909-1948
Most Rev. Peter Vigano, PIMEBishop1897-1908
Most Rev. Peter Caprotti, PIMEBishop1886-1897
Most Rev. Peter Caprotti, PIMEVicar Apostolic 1882-1886
Most Rev. Domenico Barbero, PIMEVicar Apostolic 1870-1881
Most Rev. Daniel MurphyVicar Apostolic 1845-1869