Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Archdiocese of Calcutta 

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Bengal
Patron: St. Francis Xavier
Founded: 1 September 1886
Province: Calcutta
Status: Archdiocese
Total area: 29,858 sq. kms.
Total Population : 29,048,374
Catholics Total: 152,923
Diocesan Priests: 78
Religious Priests: 159
Religious Sisters: 950
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Archdiocese of Calcutta  at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 65Retreat Centres: 0
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 31
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 02Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 32
Orphanages : 12Homes for Aged & Destitute : 14
Schools for Physically Challenged: 01Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 04
Social Centres : 12HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 12Degree Colleges: 04
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 09
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 21High Schools : 32
Upper Primary Schools: 02Lower Primary Schools:23
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :04Presses & Media Centres : 02


The Archdiocese of Calcutta covers the greater part of West Bengal. The First Christian settlements in Bengal appear at the end of the 16th century round the Church of Bandel on the Hooghly. At Calcutta the first Catholic Chapel is dated from 1700. In 1834, at the petition of Calcutta Catholics, the Holy See erected the Vicariate Apostolic of Calcutta and entrusted it to the English Province of the Society of Jesus, and at the end of 1838 to the Diocesan Clergy.

On February 17, 1845, the Holy See divided the Vicariate of Bengal into the Vicariate Apostolic of Calcutta and the Vicariate of Chittagong, the latter to be administered by its own Ordinary under the direction of the Vicar Apostolic of Calcutta. On February 15, 1850, the two Vicariates of Calcutta and Chittagong were constituted as independent Ecclesiastical units to be called West Bengal and East Bengal.

In 1856, at the request of Msgr. Oliffe, the then Vicar Apostolic of West Bengal, the S. Cong. de Propaganda Fide handed over the Vicariate to the Belgian Jesuits with the appointment on August 22, 1874, of Msgr A. Van Heule, sj, as its Vicar Apostolic of West Bengal. In 1886, the Vicariate Apostolic became the Archdiocese of Calcutta.

Pilgrim Centres

Saints / Blessed:  
Pilgrim Centres:  

Former Bishops

His Eminence Lawrence Trevor Cardinal Picachy, SJArchbishop1969-1986
Most Rev. Albert D'Souza Archbishop1962-1969
Most Rev. Vivian DyerArchbishop1960-1962
Most Rev. Ferdinand Perier, SJArchbishop1924-1960
Most Rev. Brizio Meuleman, SJ Archbishop1902-1924
Most Rev. Paul Goethals, SJArchbishop1886-1901