Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Belgaum

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Karnataka
Patron: Our Lady of the Family Rosary of Fatima
Founded: 19 September 1953
Province: Bangalore
Status: Diocese
Total area: 33,747sq.kms.
Total Population : 10,386,124
Catholics Total: 32,414
Diocesan Priests: 79
Religious Priests: 24
Religious Sisters: 0
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Diocese of Belgaum at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 69Retreat Centres: 02
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 04
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 02Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 09
Orphanages : 04Homes for Aged & Destitute : 0
Schools for Physically Challenged: 0Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 01
Social Centres : 17HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 04Degree Colleges: 04
Parallel Colleges : 06Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 05
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 06High Schools : 33
Upper Primary Schools: 02Lower Primary Schools:01
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :0Presses & Media Centres : 01


The Belgaum Diocese was erected on September 19, 1953 by the Papal Bull "Summa illa Sollicitudo" of Pope Pius XII. Two civil districts of Belgaum and North Kanara were separated from the Archdiocese of Goa and two other civil districts of Dharwad and Bijapur were taken from the Diocese of Pune in forming the Diocese of Belgaum.

The most Rev. Dr. Michael Rodrigues was appointed the first Bishop. By a the Papal Bull "Christi Missium" of Paul VI, the North Kanara District was separated from the Belgaum Diocese to form the Karwar Diocese on January 24, 1976.

It now consists of the civil districts of Belgaum, Bijapur, Bagalkot, Dharwad, Gadag and Haveri in Karnataka State and the Chandgad taluka in Kolhapur District of Maharashtra State.

Former Bishops

Most Rev. Bernard Moras Bishop1997-2004
Most Rev. Ignatius Lobo Bishop1967-1994
Most Rev. Fortunato da Viega CoutinoBishop1964-1967
Most Rev. Michael RodriguesBishop1953-1964