Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Bagdogra

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Region : Bengal
Patron: Jesus the Good Shepherd
Founded: 14 June 1997
Province: Calcutta
Status: Diocese
Total area: 1200 Sq. km
Total Population : 9,35,000
Catholics Total: 54,614
Diocesan Priests: 24
Religious Priests: 23
Religious Sisters: 136
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Diocese of Bagdogra at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 19Retreat Centres: 0
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 05
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 01Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 10
Orphanages : 01Homes for Aged & Destitute : 0
Schools for Physically Challenged: 0Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 01
Social Centres : 05HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 02Degree Colleges: 0
Parallel Colleges : 03Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 03
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 0High Schools : 04
Upper Primary Schools: 02Lower Primary Schools:21
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :03Presses & Media Centres : 0


In the early part of the twentieth century, when the tea gardens in the foothills of Darjeeling required labourers, many Adivasis from Chotanagpur migrated to the Terai Plains and gradually settled down there.

The Jesuit Fathers from St. Mary's College, Kurseong, looked after the spiritual needs of the Adivasi Catholics, quite regularly. The first Station was established in Gayaganga in 1933 by Fr A. Bossaerts, sj

The area called 'Terai' was established in 1962. As the number of Catholics and local vocations increased, and for better care of the Faithful, Pope John Paul II decided to divide the Diocese of Darjeeling, and thus this Diocese of Bagdogra was created on January 25 1998, with Bishop Thomas D'Souza as its First Bishop.

Former Bishops

Most Rev. Thomas D’Souza Bishop1997-2011