Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Aurangabad

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Patron: St. Gonsalo Gracia, St. Theresa of Child Jesus
Founded: 17 December 1977
Province: Nagpur
Status: Diocese
Total area: 64,818 Sq. km
Total Population : 17,737,202
Catholics Total: 8,995
Diocesan Priests: 26
Religious Priests: 21
Religious Sisters: 163
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Diocese of Aurangabad at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 23Retreat Centres: 0
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 0
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 03Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 08
Orphanages : 05Homes for Aged & Destitute : 0
Schools for Physically Challenged: 01Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 01
Social Centres : 08HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 05Degree Colleges: 0
Parallel Colleges : 01Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 01
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 0High Schools : 14
Upper Primary Schools: 07Lower Primary Schools:04
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :0Presses & Media Centres : 0


The Diocese of Aurangabad was erected by the Decree 'Qui Arcano' (No. 1139/78) dated December 1997. It comprises of seven civil districts, Aurangabad, Jalna, Parbhani and Nanded are taken from the Diocese of Amravati and Latur. Bhir and Osmanabad are taken from the Archdiocese of Hyderabad. This entire region constitutes a political unit named MARATHWADA in Maharashtra.

Former Bishops

Right Rev. Edwin Colaco
Bishop Emeritus of Aurangabad
Personal Details
Priestly Ordination:2-Dec-1964
Episcopal Ordination:30-Jul-1995

Tel(P): 09421681818, 09765883597
Email(P): bishopcolaco@gmail.com
Contact Details
Vianney Clergy Home, Behind Bishop’s House, Aurangabad Cantt. 431 002 (Maharashtra)
Tel(O): 0240-2370576
Email : ambroserebello@gmail.com
Most Rev. Sylvester MonteiroBishop1999-2005
Most Rev. Ignatius D'CunhaBishop1989-1998
Most Rev. Dominic Joseph Abreo Auxiliary Bishop1977-1987