Dioceses of India
Total: 1

Diocese of Amravati

Quick Links:      History
Rite: Latin
Patron: Our Lady of Dolours, St. Francis Xavier
Founded: 8 May 1955
Province: Nagpur
Status: Diocese
Total area: 46,447 Sq. km
Total Population : 1,01,41,903
Catholics Total: 5,111
Diocesan Priests: 31
Religious Priests: 13
Religious Sisters: 194
Minor Seminarians: 0
Major Seminarians: 0

Diocese of Amravati at a Glance

Ecclesiastical Institutions

Parishes & Substations : 19Retreat Centres: 0
Major Seminaries : 0Diocesan Minor Seminaries: 0
Congregation Minor Seminaries: 0Religious Formation Houses : 04
Men Religious Houses: 0Women Religious Houses: 0

Charitable Institutions

Hospitals : 03Dispensaries / Clinics / Health Centres: 12
Orphanages : 07Homes for Aged & Destitute : 0
Schools for Physically Challenged: 01Homes for Physically Challenged : 0
Crèches: 0Boarding Houses : 0
Counselling Centres : 0De-addiction Centre: 0
Social Centres : 06HIV / AIDS Centre: 0

Educational Institutions

Professional Colleges : 09Degree Colleges: 0
Parallel Colleges : 0Vocational / Technical Training Centres : 02
Higher Secondary / Junior Colleges : 02High Schools : 16
Upper Primary Schools: 03Lower Primary Schools:17
Nurseries / Pre-Primary Schools :05Presses & Media Centres : 0


The Diocese of Amravati created by the Decree 'Cum Petierit' dated May 8, 1955 was formerly a part of the Archdiocese of Nagpur. It comprised four districts of Vidarbha viz. Amravati, Akola, Buldana and Yavatmal and the three districts of Marathwada, viz Aurangabad, Parbhani and Nanded.

By another decree 'Paescit Ubique' dated May 8, 1955, Pope Pius XII appointed Bp Joseph Albert Rosario, msfs, the First Bishop of Amravati.

Holy Father Pope Paul VI by the Decree 'Qui Arcano' of December 17, 1977 created the Diocese of Aurangabad for which the three civil districts, Aurangabad, Parbhani and Nanded of Marathwada region, got separated from the Diocese of Amravati.

Thus the present Diocese of Amravati consists of only four civil districts of Vidarbha region of Maharashtra state viz. Amravati, Akola, Buldana and Yavatmal.

Former Bishops

Most Rev. Lourdunada DanielBishop2007-2010
Most Rev. Edwin ColacoBishop1995-2006
Most Rev. Joseph A Rosario MSFSBishop1955-1995